Just Us Barkers Our Little Corner of the Web

Ollie Chandler Collection

Title: Ollie Chandler Collection
Author: Randy Alcorn
Genre: , ,
Description: This series of books covers life in Oregon for newspaper columnist Jake Woods, his friends, coworker Clarence Abernathy, and, of course, Detective Ollie Chandler. The series kicks off with Deadline, where Jake Woods has to deal with his beliefs as he struggles with the murder of his two best friends. This is followed by Dominion, where Clarence Abernathy also struggles with faith and doubt, while dealing with issues of racism, gang violence and the murder of his sister. Finally, the series closes out with Deception, where Detective Ollie Chandler has to deal with what he believes while investigating the murder of a university professor.


The first thing I would say about this series is that from the very beginning I wasn’t sure why it was called the “Ollie Chandler” collection. Yes, Ollie Chandler was in all three books, but he really didn’t play the role of main character until the last book. In the first two books, he played a fairly minor role, while the main characters dealt with their own issues.

One thing I found distracting was the frequent back-and-forth between Earth and Heaven (and sometimes Hell). This was the most noticeable in the the first book, Deadline. I felt these “side-trips” really distracted from the main story. While I did enjoy reading these parts, they tended to drag on for way too long, leaving me with the desire to get back to the main story.

Other than those two issues, I really enjoyed this series. Not only was in enjoyable from a crime-suspense perspective, but it also got me thinking about the real life issues each character is forced to tackle – AIDS, abortion, racism, gang violence, etc. I really enjoyed reading about these issues through the eyes of each of the characters. All of this helped me to better reflect on my own thoughts of these issues and how I continue to see all of them through the eyes of my own culture and experience – which definitely is not “all of the story.”

Overall, a great read that I would recommend to anybody.


I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review through their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *